• Welcome to Avian Avenue! To view our forum with less advertisments please register with us.
    Memberships are free and it will just take a moment. Click here

Hello, I am new!

Budgieluvr

Checking out the neighborhood
Real Name
Michele Haddock
Hello all! I’m new by “forced gifting” by my husband. An elderly couple was selling us some furniture to move from Louisiana to Delaware. They were going to be rehoming their budgie pair that have basically been living room decorations. My husbands big ‘ol heart just knew that now that I am a retired Registered Nurse of 32 years and enjoying the peace and quiet and no responsibilities, I’d appreciate him bringing home 2 completely untamed, shaking in terror pair of budgies! I asked him every sort of question, names, age, feeding regimen, have they ever been handled, when was last avian vet check and guess what his answer was? I didn’t ask but aren’t they cute? as they are huddled together clinging to the top corner shaking in terror. Just him trying to carry their cage into the house they were flapping everywhere and scared to death! SERIOUSLY? I am a dedicated pet owner and very responsible with my animals and its expensive. Its a permanent child in my home—animals never should be decorations or outside on a leash…oops! I diversed Waaay off topic! Anyway, my husband texted the man and tried to ask some question but they spoke little English. He said they call them Blue bird and Yellow bird…because there is a blue one and a yellow one…okay yeah decorations remember…Luckily my parents had birds when we were growing up and Blue actually is a male and yellow is definitely female. Anyway again, they were on Walmart’s Wild bird seeds. So now I am waiting for all of my different organic seeds I ordered to come in. I have already started dicing fresh veggies and adding to their established food to begin my weaning to an all natural seasonal diet. However…my question about pellets…do I incorporate crushed Parrot pellets or are th